Autumnsblogspot’s Blog

Emergency Surgery

Posted on: October 1, 2009

Hi Everyone,

Wednesday morning I woke up not feeling too well. I guess the day before while Ma and I were out walking I ate something I shouldn’t have. Ma never saw what I ate. I make her think I’m nibblin’ on grass. I don’t know what possessed me to eat this stuff ‘cuz it’s really not like me at all. I was just being a silly girl and Wednesday I felt kinda sick.

I woke Ma up by throwing up. She took me outside and then I went poo but Ma got scared ‘cuz it was a strange red color. Ma put me in the car and drove me over to the Vet’s office. On the way there I threw up again and Ma discovered a a foreign object coming out of my mouth. It was a hard piece of plastic.

These are some of the pieces they took out of my tummy

These are some of the pieces they took out of my tummy

The Vet’s took me in right away and as I was being examined I poo’d again with all the red stuff. The vet took some tests and x-rays and found I had more of those a foreign objects in my tummy.

They gave me some medicine to make me throw up more but those plastic pieces didn’t come up.

Next they tried an Endoscope, a tube went down to my tummy through my mouth with a camera. Dr. Greta tried to lasso the pieces but that didn’t work either.

They told Ma they would have to open up my tummy to remove the plastic. Ma was really scared and so was I!

They took me in a special room with 5 other doctors and assistants and gave me some gas to put me to sleep. They tell me that they then opened up my belly to check out my stomach and intestines and removed 8 pieces of the plastic. All I remember is Ma coming in to visit me when I was waking up. I was happy she was there.

After the surgery I was still having bloody poos. Dr. Larson told Ma that he thought I had Hemorrhagic Gastroenteritis and thought that maybe I would have to go to the emergency hospital for overnight care. Then later he said that maybe it was just “bad luck”. That the stress of that stuff being in my tummy was causing the red poos.

Doctor Greta said she found some ulcerations on my tummy walls that need to be treated so they finally sent me home with a bag full of medicine.

That's all the icky medicine I have to take. All because I was a silly girl!

That's all the icky medicine I have to take. All because I was a silly girl!

Ma and I were both happy that I was home. I crawled onto my beddie and laid down. Later I got up and had Ma put me on her pillow and fell asleep next to her.

She’s been feeding me pills and I drank some water but I don’t want to eat yet. I went outside and did my business but wanted to come back in straight away and go back to sleep.

I think I’m going to be ok but for now I just want to rest.

Ruv Autumn

P.S. While Ma was helping me write this I ate some hamburger and rice. YAY!

My friend Uly sent this to me all the way from France!

My friend Uly sent this to me all the way from France!

9 Responses to "Emergency Surgery"

Oh my doggie gosh, Autumn, we are so glad that your Ma knew what to do right away and took you to the doctor. It won’t help anything to scold your for eating all that plastic, and we know you had no idea it would become such a problem for you. We’re just happy that it is being taken care of by a caring Ma and an experienced doctor. Now it is your job to follow the doctor’s and Ma’s order so you can heal up well and completely. Rest. Take your medicine. Accept any and all pats, belly rubs, scritchies, snuggles, cuddles, smoochie kisses and tender words. And try to remember to stay away from future plastic temptations.

Love,
Jake and Fergi xxoo

Oh sweetie Autumn. Poor you. What a tale of terror. Thank dog your Mom took you straight to the vets and he got all those pointy pieces out of your tummy. I’m sending you lashing of wiry zen over the big pee to make you feel better. Get well and back to normal double triple quick.And some wiry snuggles for you Mom cos she must of been worried and upset.

Wiry loves and kisses Eric xxxxx

Whoah, Autumn! What a scary experience! You’re lucky you got such a great ma who is smart and knows what to do in emergencies.
My mama usually just freaks out and then dad takes over …

Get better soon!

OMG, Autumn! Thank doG you’re okay!
We’re sending you lots of AireZen! Take all of your pills like a good girl so you can feel better soon!

Love ya lots,
Maggie and Mitch

Hi Autumn,
My homie and I have been following your blog for a while (we hope you don’t mind if we link you!). So sorry you had that scare; we lakies like to get into stuff eh? 😉 Glad you ate some food! Take care!!

Tosca

OMDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD!!!!!!!!!!
Poor baby!!!!!!!!!
We were soooooooooooooooo worried for you reading your post!!!
But finally we’re glad you have a wonderful mommy who knows what she can do in emergency!!!!!!!!!!!
And get you to the vet and now you’re ok!!!
What a scary adventure!!!!
But…….why you eat plastic Autumn????
It’s soooooooooooo dangerous!!!!!!!!!!!
Pleaseeeeeeeeeeeee….now do a good girl…take all the medicine…take sweet rest with your mommy…..eat the right food….
so you’ll feeling better soon!!!!!!!!!
We’re sending you all our love and pawsitive vibes….
We’ll keep you in our prayers and thoughts!!!
Pleaseeeeeee…..let us know how are you in the next days!!!
WE LOVE YOUUUUUUUUUUUUUU!!!!!!!!!!
We would love live near you and giving you tons of sweet cuddles!!!!!!
Take care…..and A big YEPPYYYYYYYYYYYY For your mommy!!!!!!!!!!
Kisses and licks!!!!

Autumn
I’ve been following youw owdeal on facebook, and am so happy you awe home and westing and finally even felt like eating something. I love you little sweetie and am so sowwy you and youw mommi had to go thwough all this twauma!I am sending you oodles of healing smoochie kisses to make you totally well.
and some fow youw mommi’s twaumatised newves too
love
ASTA

Autumn

We are so glad you are on the road to recovery. Please promise us that you wont eat things like this ever agian. You had us all so worried.

Molly, Taffy and Monty xxx

Hi Autumn, Just dropping by to make sure you are all okeydokey and recovered now? Wiry loves and kisses Eric xxxx

Comments are closed.

