Autumnsblogspot’s Blog

I’ve Become a Proud Terrier

Posted on: April 29, 2010

It’s official! At least according to Ma.
I’ve become a proud Lakeland Terrier and Ma is sure proud of me! YAY!

Well, it all started with the chipmunks. Many chipmunks have been popping up, literally, through small holes in the ground. And, as in true Lakeland fashion, I was curious. I began sniffing around for a few days honing my “sniffer” skills. Then I began digging a bit hoping to see one of those rascals. After about a week I became more and more confident in my skills, sniffing and digging and peeking in holes.

Honing my skills

Ma read me a paragraph from the American Kennel Club on Lakelands that states:

The Lakeland Terrier has a dense, wiry coat with longer hair on the legs and muzzle, often giving him a distinct beard. Small, sturdy and workmanlike, the breed’s narrow frame allows him to squeeze into rocky dens to chase after vermin.

Today was the piece de résistance!!
I spotted the vermin and the chase was on!
I stuck my nose in the tiny hole and smelled it. I used all my might to dig that hole out. I scratched and clawed! I even used my teeth to pull the grass out from the ground. I was determined!! Ma had to stop me only to pull out a hunk of soil that was wedged in my teeth.
I was relentless. There was no stopping me.

Ma had never seen me so focused, so engaged! My true Lakeland Terrier had finally kicked into full gear. Ma was so proud.

My face was muddy and my paws had grass and soil stuck between the nails. I was a mess and Ma just laughed as I shined in all my Lakie glory.

I never caught that little chipmunk but I know I had him scared.
I realized…..I never had anything fear me before.
It felt great!
I felt proud.

Ma took me home and washed me up and then I ran to my beddie and grabbed some toys. Me and Ma played and played and we were both so tickled and happy!

It was a great bonding moment for the two of us. She has never been more proud of me. And now I’m sitting on the deck and looking very satisfied if not a tad arrogant. BOL!! And Ma says that’s good for me! YAY!

WoW! How far I have come in 14 months! WeeeeeHa!

3 Responses to "I’ve Become a Proud Terrier"

Autumn
how fantastic!!!
No wondeew youw mom was pwoud!!! I hope Agatha sees this. I know whe will congwatulate you too.
I have nevew done that , so you have suwely suwpassed me in youw tewwiewness.WoooHOOOOOO

Fantastic ! you have come a long long way
Congwatulations
smoochie kisses
ASTA

Great job, Autumn! We have Chipmunks too, but we’ve never caught one. We do, however, strike fear into the hearts of the squirrels that our mom insists on feeding!

Aire-hugs,
Penny & Patches

Oh Autumn I’m sorry I’m late.. Wish I had seen this earlier to congratulate you my clever square cousin. What a true Lakie girlie – a terrierising terrific terrier. Wish I could wag over so you could teach me cos I’ve never done the digging thing or even seen a chipmunk. Sigh.

Love from your wagging proud square cousin ERic xxxx

Comments are closed.

